Tharoor on Transparency

Shashi Tharoor gave an interview to the South Asian Journalist Association yesterday on Skype. UNSG.org has the link and details (also, SAJAForum). One of the things that has struck us about his interview was his statements on transparency, a subject that is near and dear to our heart and that we’ve written a fair amount on recently. He pointed out that this has been the most transparent UNSG selection process in quite a while. In particular he points out:

  1. The public criteria for nomination.
  2. The open (and notorious?) campaigning across the world. (We have highlighted the trips and actions of Surakiart Sathirathai and Ban Ki-moon in particular. Details here)
  3. Discussion in public fora and private conversations.
  4. An informal, but perhaps solid, timetable.

As the world considers over the next several months how this will continue, we encourage NGOs and the academic community, especially in NYC, to consider these questions.

4 Responses to “Tharoor on Transparency”

  1. piyawat Says:

    To all:

    I usually read this website once a week as it has many interesting topics that widen my vision. However, I found it very questionable about Tharoor claiming himself to be transparent.

    Tharoor is still working for the United Nations in a very key position, BUT now running for its top job. He himslef mentioned to spend almost all nights campaigning, sending e-mails to his “connections” he got by his years and positions in the UN. Is it fair for him to spend the UN time to campaign? Even if he only campaigns during his leave time, it is still not fair because he will not be ready for work and he will keep worrying about himslef and not his daily work.

    That was about the time. What about the resources? Can he give details on all his campaign spending? It better not relates to official expenses he claims for reimbursement!! If he also campaigns on official trips paid by UN, or extends his leave to such visits to campaign, that is also very unfair, if not illegal. UN should realy look into this type of people–taking advantage of his own organization–and should write up regulation for punishment, otherwise men in its organization will start doing the same.

    How can a person who should be punished for his selfish act claim that he is transparent? All the time and money he has taken unethically should be paid back to the UN, an organization the belongs to the whole world, that includes myself and my family. (even my brother who is not very educated knows he should not spend his company’s time and money trying to replace his boss who is retiring this October!!!)

    Piyawat

  2. Shashi Tharoor Says:

    My attention has been drawn to this comment. I’d like to clarify to anyone who shares these concerns that my attempts to promote my candidacy are on my own time, using my earned leave accumulated over many years, and including no use whatsoever of the UN’s time or resources. I would have much preferred not to have to campaign, but the campaigns of other contenders left me no choice.

    I trust my response reaffirms my commitment to transparency.

  3. Tharoor comments on concerns regarding using UN resources in his campaign « Chapter15 Says:

    […] In response to an allegation made by one of our readers Shashi Tharoor has clarified his use of UN resources in his campaign. We reprint his statement on our blog below: My attention has been drawn to this comment. I’d like to clarify to anyone who shares these concerns that my attempts to promote my candidacy are on my own time, using my earned leave accumulated over many years, and including no use whatsoever of the UN’s time or resources. I would have much preferred not to have to campaign, but the campaigns of other contenders left me no choice. […]

  4. Dr. Yashanvitha Says:

    Tharoor’s reponse was the best response to Piyawat’s concerns.For a while, stop worrying about the UN, world & ur family dear Piyawat. They all would be fine in future, if Tharoor’s health & money pocket are fine now.Just pray for his good health & peace.Time & resources will come to him from his past good deeds.Don’t bother,u can sleep well.

Leave a Reply

